This Historic Chapel was established in 1913 by city namesakes, Juan and Adolfo Camarillo. Today, the Chapel is a thriving religious institution and many visit the grounds to admire the architecture.
The chapel reflects California’s mission heritage with a white stucco exterior, red tile roofing, outdoor patio surrounded by lush gardens and a series of arches, colorful stained glass windows, and an interior of warm brown, beige and gold earth tones. The inside is composed mainly of a handsome lattice work of exposed wooden beams, paneling, a dark walnut alter, and pews with towering hand carved sanctuary. The Stations of the Cross were crafted by artisans in Italy. The composition, mainly wood and stucco, will alleviate dangers from nearby earthquake faults. It is a church that is large enough to accommodate the needs of a growing, vibrant parish and one which will serve as a continuing tribute to the proud traditions initiated by the Camarillo family.